Credit transfers

The existing credit transfer schemes of the banks (DTA) and of PostFinance (EPO/ECA/ISR) will be harmonized using the ISO 20022 standard. Payment instructions at the customer-bank interface will be processed as pain.001 messages (Customer Credit Transfer Initiation) and status messages as pain.002 (Customer Payment Status Report). The IBAN will be used exclusively as the primary identification feature for a bank account connection as of 2020.

These changes shall ensure more efficient transaction processing through uniform bank-independent standards, both across Switzerland and crossborder. Every payment will be unambiguously identified with the new end-to-end reference. This enables, among other things, the automatic allocation of repayments. The exclusive use of account numbers in IBAN format reduces errors and increases the straight-through processing (STP) rate.

Changes

  • The proprietary standards and schemes (EPO, ISR, ECA, SIC and DTA) will be replaced both in interbank and customer-bank payments.
  • Credit transfers in customer-bank data exchanges shall take place in accordance with the ISO 20022 standard. Payment instructions and status messages as pain messages, account statements (day-end and intraday) and debit and credit notices as camt messages.
  • The IBAN will be used exclusively for bank and post account numbers.

Transitional phase

  • The precise duration of the parallel operation in the customer-bank data exchange can be defined by each financial institution according to its and/or its customers' needs. Basically, the parallel use of the current standards and formats (e.g. DTA, EPO) and the new ISO 20022 message standards is possible between 2015 and 2018.
  • SWIFT MT messages are not affected and will be further supported.

Virements

Les procédures actuelles de virement des banques (DTA) et de PostFinance (OPAE/VEC/BVR) vont être harmonisées grâce à l'utilisation de la norme ISO 20022. Au niveau de l'interface client-banque, les ordres de paiement auront désormais lieu avec le message pain.001 (Customer Credit Transfer Initiation) et les avis d'état avec pain.002 (Customer Payment Status Report). Premier signe d'identification pour une liaison bancaire, l'IBAN sera, à partir de 2020, le seul à être utilisé.

Grâce à la norme unique et indépendante des banques, ces modifications permettront un traitement des transactions plus efficace, aussi bien au plan national que transfrontalier. Grâce à la nouvelle référence continue, chaque paiement est identifié  sans équivoque. Cela permet, entre autres, le classement automatique des retours. L'utilisation exclusive du numéro de compte avec le format IBAN diminue le risque d'erreur et augmente le taux de traitement automatisé de bout en bout (taux STP).

Modifications

  • Les normes et procédures propriétaires (OPAE, BVR, VEC, SIC et DTA) sont supprimés aussi bien dans le trafic des paiements interbancaire que client-banque.

  • Au niveau des échanges de données client-banque, les virements ont lieu dans la norme ISO 20022: les ordres de paiement et les avis d'état avec des messages pain; les relevés de compte (fin de journée et intrajournalier) et les affichages de débit et de crédit avec des messages camt.

  • Pour les numéros de compte bancaires et postaux, seul l'IBAN est utilisé.

Phase de transition

  • Chaque établissement financier peut définir la durée exacte de gestion parallèle au niveau de l'échange de données client-banque en fonction de ses besoins ou de ceux de ses clients. En principe, l'utilisation parallèle des normes et formats courants (p. ex. DTA, OPAE) et des nouvelles normes de messages ISO 20022 sera possible entre 2015 et 2018.
  • Les messages TM SWIFT ne sont pas concernés et continueront à être acceptés.